Archive for October 12, 2008

Building Something Beautiful From Something Broken

Really, the title speaks volumes. What I believed was totally lost and beyond repair has beat the odds. Although our marriage hasn’t been one for the record books, when Hubby and I reminisce, we’ve really had a better relationship than most couples.

The very heart of our marriage and friendship is humor. This humor comes in the form of kitchen dances to our favorite 80’s music, impersonation various movie characters and family members, random comments, and sharing memories from our past. This is good stuff folks! Really, to build the marriage of our dreams, we’ve had to strip our dynamic down to it’s very core and find beauty in the things that work for us.

I really think we’re going to make it, which is probably going out on a limb. I’ve realized how committed to our children we both are, how our friendship is the calm in our storm, and how we need to take it day by day and minute by minute to keep our minds and hearts focused on the present. It is easy to become overwhelmed with the big picture, for sure. I want to be settled, I want to be committed, and I want to be with this man forever.

**I’d like to thank Magic Doug for his weekly challenges, and also, the pharmaceutical company who makes my mood stabilizer. Both are equally responsible for my wonderful attitude adjustment!